Organisational structure

Our organisational structure has changed. 

The new structure, created through our Organisational Design project, is designed to enable us to deliver against the principles set out for us in the Environment and Wellbeing Acts, and the objectives set out in our Corporate and Business Plans.  It is designed to deliver locally, whilst maintaining high standards across the whole of Wales.  It is designed to be flexible and resilient in the face of future challenges.

Our new place based approach will focus on seven place-based teams (including marine). These will be led by our seven Heads of Place and work with the Heads of Business in our Evidence, Policy and Permitting and Finance and Corporate Services directorates.

Organisational structure 

Organisational structure (May 2020) * Starting summer 2020
Chief Executive

Clare Pillman

Executive Team

Ceri Davies ​

Executive Director for Evidence, Policy and Permitting


Gareth O'Shea ​

Executive Director of Operations

Rachael Cunningham*

Executive Director Finance & Corporate Services


 Sarah Jennings*

Executive Director of Communications, Customer and Commercial

Prys Davies​

Director of Corporate Strategy & Development ​ 

Leadership Team 

Ruth Jenkins

Head of NRM Policy

Sian Williams / Richard Ninnes 

Head of North West Wales Operations 

Rob Bell

Head of Finance

Catrin Hornung 

Head of Communications

Su Turney ​

Head of Organisational Development  

Isobel Moore 

Head of Regulation & Permitting  

Lyndsey Rawlinson / Richard Ninnes 

Head of North East Wales Operations

Martin Parkinson ​

Head of ICT

Naomi Lawrence*

Head of Customer Experience

Helen John ​

Head of Governance

Jeremy Parr

Head of Flood & Incident Risk Management

Martin Cox

Head of Mid Wales Operations 

Vacant ​

Head of Business Support Services

Sasha Wynn Davies

Head of Commercial

Sarah Asbrey

Head of Legal Services 

Helen Wilkinson

Interim Hea​d of Knowledge & Evidence

Martyn Evans 

Head of South West Wales Operations 



Steve Burton

Head of People Management & Wellbeing, Health and Safety

Dominic Driver

Head of Land Stewardship

Mike Evans

Head of South Central Wales Operations  



Sarah Williams*

Head of 2050 Vision & Planning


Steve Morgan

Head of South East Wales ​Operations ​





Rhian Jardine

Head of Development Planning & Marine Services




Declaration of interests

The Executive Team are asked to declare any individual interests or of those of any close family (defined as partner, children, parents and siblings) particularly where there are currently or potentially business interactions relevant to NRW’s role and remit

There are six categories of interest:

  • Category 1 – Executive or Non-Executive Board, Committee or Trust Membership
  • Category 2 – Remunerated employment, trade, profession or vocations
  • Category 3 – Relevant Equity/Shareholdings
  • Category 4 – Land & Property
  • Category 5 – Political Activity
  • Category 6 – Any other interest (where the Executive Team member wishes to declare any other interest at their own discretion)

Register of interests February 2020.

The Register will be kept under review by the Governance Team.

Last updated